About Us

Darwin Plus Advisory Group


The Darwin Plus Advisory Group is one of the Biodiversity Challenge Funds Advisory Groups, and further information for these groups can be found on the Resources for Advisory Group Members page.

The Darwin Plus Advisory Group consists of a range of experts from government, academia, science and the private sector. The group advises ministers on development of the initiative, reviews applications and makes recommendations to ministers on applications for funding.



  • Howard Nelson | Fauna & Flora 


Members with UKOT knowledge or experience

  • Colin Clubbe | Independent
  • Debbie Pain | Independent
  • Jonathan Hall | Conservation International
  • John R Turner | Bangor University
  • Laura Sinclair Willis | Government of South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands (SGSSI)
  • Lee Hardy | Independent
  • Nancy Pascoe | Government of British Virgin Islands (BVI)
  • Tara-Jane Sutcliffe | Independent


Other external advisers

  • Amanda Gregory | Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC)
  • Ed McManus | Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (Cefas)
  • Sara Barrios | Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
  • Kedell Worboys | UKOTA


UK Government policy advisers from

  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
  • Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)


2024 Darwin Plus Advisory Group Recruitment Pack